Cookies and lesson 2

The other day, I decided to make some m&m cookies. They were really good, so I’ll give y’all the recipe, and some pictures :)

image

And Faith loved it

image

Famous Hotel Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes: 20
Cooking Time: 13 min
What You’ll Need:
1/2 cup rolled oats
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 eggs
3 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts
What To Do:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a food processor or blender, pulse oats until fine.
In a large bowl, combine oats with flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.
In another large bowl, with an electric mixer, cream together butter, sugars, and vanilla. Add eggs and mix until smooth. Stir in oats mixture; mix well. Stir chocolate chips and nuts into dough; mix well.
Spoon rounded 1/4 cup portions onto ungreased baking sheets, about 2 inches apart.
Bake 13 to 15 minutes, or until cookies are light brown and soft in the middle. When cool, store in a sealed container to keep soft.
Notes
Dough can be refrigerated overnight.

image

So, upon preparing to devour this scrumptious treat, I placed it upon a cloth napkin and it hit me. Just what I was looking for. I needed something simple to show you for the next sewing lesson. And what better thing to start with than a napkin? Not only are napkins useful, but a cloth one is prettier and less expensive than paper ones. And, another good thing about this is, you are encouraged to practice as much as necessary to be really good at what you are doing, and you can make as many of these napkins as you need to do that, because its always good to have a lot of napkins around. So here it is,

Lesson Two- Straight stitch, pressing, and pivoting.

As I said, we are going to make a napkin, and I hope the pictures are helpful for you.

image

First, pick out your fabric, scraps work well, but if you have never sewed before I have a feeling you don’t have any scraps. so pick it out and decide how big you want it to be, for me, 12 in. x 12 in. worked well. add one inch to the length and width, because of seam allowances. Seam allowances are what is folded into the hem or sewed together. It makes the piece about 1/2 in. shorter. More on this later :) Use a straight ruler so that your line is very precise. measure and use a pencil or fabric pen to draw your lines. cut it out.

image

Pressing is where you use the iron and iron things into the position you want it. So get your iron out and iron the fabric until it is wrinkle free. Next, fold one edge approximately 1/4 in. And press. Do this to all four sides, making sure they’re all folded to the inside. Now, take a moment and measure the length and width. It doesn’t have to be precise, this is for demonstration. Notice that it is 1/2 in. Shorter than when you started? That is seam allowance, where you folded it. I mean, you don’t want an ugly edge do you?

image

Now, fold each edge over a second time and press. Now all the unsightly edges are out of sight even on the back. But, you may notice that at the corners, it’s very thick, and that will be hard to sew through, so we’ll put those corners on a diet :p we’re going to make them easier to work with.

image

Unfold the edges and you’ll see we’re the lines you pressed are. Fold the corner in to the bottom of the little square made by you pressing. Press.

image

Then fold again like this and press. Repeat for the other three corners.

image

Fold back up like it was along the pressed lines, keeping the corners folded in. Doesn’t that look better? As well as being thinner?

image

Make sure the sewing machine is threaded correctly, then raise the presser foot and place the napkin under it. Lower the foot slowly, adjusting the fabric until the right edge of the foot is even with the edge of the fabric. Make sure you start at the corner of the napkin about 1/4 in away from it. Check that the machine is set to straight stitch, usually the very first selection and symbolized something like this —-
Hold the thread that comes out of the needle securely. Stitch as slowly as you can and only a few stitches, 3 or 4.

image

Hold down the reverse button and press the pedal until you are at the beginning of we’re you started. Release the reverse button and, sewing slowly and as straight as possible, always with the edge of the foot against the edge of the fabric, sew to right near the end of that side. When you are about 1/4 in away from the edge, stop.

image

Make sure the needle is lowered into the fabric. Raise the foot and rotate the fabric so that it is aligned with the next side. Lower the foot. This is called pivoting. Last time, when you used the reverse button (or back stitched) it was to make sure the threads are secured at the beginning, but that is only done at the beginning when you put the fabric on the machine, and when you end and take the fabric off. You don’t have to do that here. Just press the pedal and go to the end of the line. Pivot. Continue until you meet up with we’re you began. Back stitch. Clip the threads close to the fabric and take it off the machine.

image

It should look like this. But if it’s not completely straight, don’t worry. I have a dress i made about two years ago. It’s a princess dress. Made from table cloths in case you wondering. But on part of it, where I sewed, not only did I use contrasting thread so that it really stands out, it was definitely Not straight. But I’ve gotten better and so will you. You don’t have to do this a hundred times until it’s straight. This is just so you can kind of get practice. By the way, I usually don’t try to match colors of thread with the fabric, because I don’t have money to buy a spool of thread for every project I make. So I just pick what looks best, whit or black and use that. But not long ago, I was given tons of thread. So while I have it, I try to match it up with the project. But with this tutorial, I thought it would be best if you could see the thread. So I chucked green thread and stuck some white on there :) here’s a picture of my sewing room. You can see all my thread on the little stand. Well almost all, I have about fifteen more in the drawer below.

image

Anyways, your napkin is done, just throw it in the laundry, fold it up and use it.

image

I really hope this has been helpful, please comment if you have questions and have fun. And enjoy those cookies if you make them ever.

6 thoughts on “Cookies and lesson 2

  1. Why, my dear twin, what a fantabulous idea! ;) I shall do that, (if I do need further help) :D I thank thee, o my sister and o the delight of mine eyes! ;)
    ~Sarah

  2. Ach, just wrote that comment and hadn’t seen yours, cause it wasn’t there then. Anyhow, your welcome! :D And I shall try to sew it…unless I get too frustrated and give in and ask you to help me…which’ll prob’ly be the case, y’know? ;)

    • I can’t say which I like better because I used blogger for only a very short time and couldn’t figure out how to put pictures on either until I asked y’all. Well here’s the thing. I will not help you by going into the room. If you have a question, post it here so others can have it answered if they have the same question. But if you can’t figure it out (being such a bright girl as you are) then I might as well stop blogging unless it can be answered through comments. So yeah :) you can figure it out if you try.

  3. Now I shall try to make a napkin whilst thou art gone — so that I’ll do it by myself ;) And those cookies indeed WERE scrumptious! :D
    Anyways, ciao for now twinsy! :)
    ~Sarah

Leave a Reply

